About NCNA

NCNA Leadership

The North Carolina Nurses Association is led by a Board of Directors elected by the membership and consisting of three Executive Committee members, four Members at Large, and the Chair of the Commission on Advanced Practice Nursing. This Board set the strategic direction of the organization and set priorities and policy, which are then implemented in partnership with a staff led by Tina Gordon, MPA, CAE, FACHE, who serves as NCNA’s Chief Executive Officer.

Board of Directors for 2023-2024

(October 2023 through 2024)

Executive Committee


Trish Richardson, NCNA President

Trish Richardson, MSN, BSBA, RN, NE-BC, CMSRN
of Raleigh


Bonnie D. Meadows, NCNA President-Elect

Bonnie Davis Meadows, MSN, APRN, ACCNS-AG
of Belmont


Thompson Forbes III, NCNA Secretary/Treasurer

Thompson Forbes III, PhD, RN, NE-BC
of Greenville

Members at Large


Bimbola Akintade, Director at Large

Bimbola Akintade, Greenville


Susan Bachmeier, Member at Large

Susan Bachmeier, Wilkesboro


Nancy Dias, Member at Large

     Nancy Dias, Durham





Torica Fuller, member at Large

Torica Fuller, Raeford


Ashley Sholar, Member at Large

Ashley Sholar, Wallace







Daiziah Wagner, Member at Large

Daiziah Wagner, Durham

Chair, Commission on Advanced Practice Nursing


Kathleen Brandenburg, CAPN Chair

Kathleen Brandenburg, Ocean Isle Beach